Massachusetts Law prohibits discrimination in the workplace. Sexual harassment is one form of discrimination that is prohibited by law. The standards governing the prohibition of sex discrimination and sexual harassment in the workplace are set forth in Massachusetts General Laws chapter 151B (“chapter 151B”).
If you have experienced discrimination or sexual harassment in the workplace, you may be able to file a complaint with the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination (“MCAD”). The MCAD is the Commonwealth’s chief civil rights agency. The MCAD works to eliminate discrimination on a variety of bases and areas, and strives to advance the civil rights of the people of the Commonwealth through law enforcement, outreach and training.
The MCAD has a 300-day statute of limitations. This means that you only have 300 days, from what you believe is the last discriminatory act, to file a claim with the MCAD.
A charge of discrimination must be filed in person. Although you do not need a lawyer to file a complaint, you may want to hire a lawyer to assist you in the process. The MCAD conducts investigations of the claims and may conduct a public hearing to determine liability.
For a free consultation regarding discrimination in the workplace, please call Considine & Furey, LLP at 617-723-7200.
Posted by Mark D. Donovan
Legal Disclaimer: This website contains general information about the law and legal topics. The information is not advice and should not be treated as such. No attorney-client relationship shall be created through the use of this website. The legal information on this website is provided without any representations or warranties, express or implied.